Nominations sought:

The Great Yarmouth Older People’s Network and Age Concern Great Yarmouth is on the search for inspirational people for our

2017 Celebration of Age Event

Do you know someone who has inspired you and/or others, someone who volunteers tirelessly for their communities and neighbourhoods, someone who deserves to be recognised for their contribution. If so, then we want to meet them to say thank you on your behalf, and for all the people they have supported and inspired.

The criteria for nominations are:

  • The nominee must be over the age of 50 years
  • Live in the Borough of Great Yarmouth
  • Have inspired you and/or others in some way either in the past, or currently
  • Be an outstanding volunteer, maybe that person who makes the tea or puts the chairs away!

For nominations all we require is:

  • Their name
  • Their DOB or age
  • Their contact details
  • Your contact details and how you know the nominee
  • No more than 1 side of A4 explaining the reasons why they deserve to be nominated

The closing date for nominations is – Friday 25th August 2017

Please forward nominations to:

Jackie Tierney, Services Manager, Age Concern Great Yarmouth, 8-9 Regent Street, and Great Yarmouth, NR30 1RN    Tel 01493 262052, email:

Rachael Hardie, Older People’s Development Worker, Great Yarmouth Age Concern, The Acorn Centre, 8-9 Regent Street, Great Yarmouth, NR30 1RN

Tel: 01493 262052; email:

The celebration event will be on Saturday 28th October 2017 at The Acorn Centre start at 2pm till 4.30pm.

Meet with Brandon Lewis MP:

Brandon Lewis MP – Surgery.

Have your say!
Wednesday 3rd August 2016 at The King’s Arms, 15 The Green, Martham from 3.30pm to 4.30pm.

This will give you the opportunity to meet with your MP and have your say on issues that matter to you.

The Election:


The Parish Council will go to election on the 5th May 2016, along with the Police and Crime Commissioner Elections and the Borough Council Elections.

Fifteen Parishioners have put themselves forward as Councillors for the eleven places on the Council.

Your nominees are:

Ian Laurence Bradford
Tony Gates
Paul Philip Hooper
Michael John Huke
Paul Henry Hurkett
Bob Huxtable
Mark David Johnson
Janet Kenealy
Wendy Llewellyn
Patrick Joseph Manifold
Vicky Smith
Colin Michael Starkings
Lee Paul Sutton
Terry Watson
Brian William Wright

The Polling Station will be the Village Hall, and you can vote for up to eleven of the above.

The current Council will be standing down on the 9th May and those elected will form a new Council.